It was recently renovated by the Archaeological Service one of the most important Byzantine monuments of Kythira. Ο Saint Andrew in Meadow, a monument that underwent five phases of construction, features two layers of Byzantine frescoes, dating from the 10th–11th centuries and the 13th century, and post-Byzantine murals from the 16th and 17th centuries αι.
Originally, in the 10th century, the church was a single-nave structure with a Kythirian-style dome. It was later converted into a cruciform church with a dome. According to archival records, the church belonged to the the Megalokonou family. In 1762, the following are listed as brothers and stewards of the church: Manolis Megalokonomos, son of Pavlos; Savvas Megalokonomos, son of Fragias; Fragiskos Megalokonomos, son of a certain Giorgis, and Giorgis Megalokonomos, son of the priest.
Among the religious depictions, there is also a remarkable secular fresco depicting a woman in prayer, dressed in period clothing, with a commemorative inscription (REMEMBER, O LORD, THE SOUL OF(AI)KIMENES, SERVANT OF GOD RELIAS MEGALOKONOMOPOULAS, FOR THE FORGIVENESS OF HER SINS)
This mural, among other things, is also of interest from a costume perspective.
















